Drones front man among Amp shortlisters

Gareth Liddiard The front man of The Drones has joined eight other nominees for this year’s Australian Music Prize (Amp).

Gareth Liddiard is in the running for the $30,000 prize money for his debut solo album, ‘Strange Tourist’.

The singer faces tough competition from Cloud Control, The Holidays, Dan Kelly, Sally Seltmann, Pikelet, Tame Impala, Richard In Your Mind and winner of the 2008 award. Eddy Current Suppression Ring.

“The judges had a tough time choosing these nine titles from the 200 or so entries received in 2010 – it was a great year for Australian music as anyone can tell from the strength of our sixth shortlist,” Amp director Scott Murphy said.

Earlier this month, The Holidays took out an Amp related prize for best debut release.

The Sydney band won the 5th Red Bull Award taking home $15,000 in flights and accommodation to travel to Los Angeles and spend a week in the Red Bull studio in Santa Monica.

The winner of the sixth Australian Music Prize will be announced on 3 March.

See below for the full list of nominations and albums.

Cloud Control - “Bliss Release” The Holidays - “Post Paradise” Dan Kelly - “Dan Kelly’s Dream” Sally Seltmann - “Heart That’s Pounding” Gareth Liddiard - “Strange Tourist” Pikelet - “Stem” Eddy Current Suppression Ring - “Rush To Relax” Tame Impala - “InnerSpeaker” Richard In Your Mind - “My Volcano”